Useful Links

Useful Links

The Howard Partnership Trust is a growing family of 13 schools in the South East of England. Our family includes Primary, Secondary and Special Schools and welcomes any school that shares our values and commitment to Bringing out the Best in each and every one of our children and young people. Visit website

Part of The Howard Partnership Trust

Curriculum aims and intent


Curriculum Aims: 


The Howard Partnership Trust will bring out the best by providing a rich experience both within and beyond the classroom. This will enable all our young people to thrive personally and academically, overcome challenges and make a positive contribution to society.

At Cuddington, within and beyond the classroom, pupils will have access to a broad and rich curriculum that will equip our children with a:


determination to succeed academically:

  • to be confident and competent readers, writers and mathematicians
  • to secure a breadth and depth of knowledge
  • to nurture their artistic and intellectual experience


sense of themselves and others:

  • to strive to continuously develop and improve physically, emotionally, socially and spiritually
  • to know how they belong, relate to others, and participate locally, nationally and globally
  • to have an awareness and appreciation of the cultures, needs and differences of others

spirit of adventure:

  • to build resilience and embrace opportunities to take risks
  • to be able to think critically, solve problems and make decisions, independently and collaboratively
  • to be ready to embrace the next stage of their learning and development, and be fully prepared for life in modern Britain

Curriculum Content: 

At Cuddington, the Early Years Foundation Stage Statutory Guidance and the National Curriculum provide a framework for our School Curriculum.  

Subjects are taught separately, however links between the subjects are exploited to allow knowledge to be consolidated, reinforced and applied. 

In Reception and Nursery our teachers follow the Early Years Foundation stage curriculum. (EYFS) It focuses upon developing learning in the following areas :

  • Communication, Language and Literacy (CLL)
  • Problem Solving, Reasoning and Numeracy (PSRN)
  • Creative Development (CD)
  • Physical Development (PD)
  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development (PSED)
  • Knowledge and Understanding of the World (KUW) 

In Years 1 to 6 teachers follow the National Curriculum. Children have access to the full range of subjects within our curriculum which includes:

  • English 
  • Maths 
  • Science
  • Physical Education 
  • History
  • Geography
  • Modern Foreign Languages (Children at Cuddington learn French) 
  • Art 
  • Music 
  • Design Technology 
  • Computing
  • Personal, Social and Health Education 
  • Religious Education (we follow the Surrey Locally Agreed Syllabus) 

In all that we do and across our curriculum we seek to encourage and support children's understanding of fundamental British values.

Pupils are taught to value

  • Democracy: We make decisions together
  • Rule of Law: We understand the need for rules
  • Individual Liberty: We believe in freedom for all
  • Mutual Respect and Tolerance: We treat others how we would like to be treated

Information about the curriculum being followed for each year group can be found on the 'Class' information page.

Learning at Cuddington Community Primary School

Well established and deeply embedded learning behaviours enable children to be effective learners. We teach, model, expect and celebrate 5 key learning behaviours. Each of these behaviours is related to a gem enabling the treasure of learning to be discovered. Children will be rewarded with 'physical'  gems linked to the 5 'Learning Gem Behaviours,'

Learning Gems and associated behaviours:

  • Sapphire - I am an Adventurous Learner. I can see a problem and solve it without adult help. I can think of different solutions to a problem.

  • Ruby – I am Ready Learner. I am prepared for learning. I am listening and have the correct equipment. I can keep on task even when there are distractions.

  • Emerald – I am a Collaborative Learner. I can work well with a partner or group. I listen attentively and share my opinion respectfully.

  • Diamond  – I am a Resilient Learner. I stick with a task until it’s completed. I don’t give up when learning is hard.

  • Amethyst  – I am a Respectful Learner. I praise others who are doing well. I help others in need. I treat others as I would like to be treated.